Installation Prices and System Evaluation

Username: Glinkov

Post Number: 8
The system I'm planning on buying for my 2000 accord consists of:
Front-Infinity Kappa Perfect 6.1 (component set)
Rear-Infinity Kappa 692.5i
Alpine MRV-T320 (2-channel to power the fronts only)
Trunk-Infinity Basslink X(self-powered sub)

Again, I'm not looking for crazy bass just nice clarity. These items, with the amp kit, are costing about $800 on ebay. Now, the installation is the problem. I'm pretty new to the car audio world and don't feel like I have enough experience to venture into a self-installation. Yet, after getting price quotes of $400+(only for installation)from two audio places, I don't know what to do. Does anyone know of a cheap but reliable place (in nassua county, new york) to get an installation? Is the price they gave me a decent one? Should I just go to best buy or pc richards and get it installed there? Are they known for doing good installations? Any and all responses would be greatly appreciated. Also, should I try to install it myself by reading more material or is it better off for me to pay the money and get it installed professionally?

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 3251
the installation can make or break a system.
prices will be higher if you bring them gear you bought elsewhere. That's normal.
If you don't want to do the install yourself, your best bet is paying for a decent shop to do the work.
People commonly balk at install labor rates, but remember with better shops you're paying for people like myself who have experience and training and know what they're doing.
Plus better shops guarantee their work. If you ever have issues, you take the car back and they'll take care of you.
While I've heard of a few good jobs by places like BB and CC, most of the stories I hear about their installers are outlandish horror stories..