Need help from you mechanics out there

Platinum Member
Username: Bestmankind

-apem

Post Number: 15872
as some of you may know, i am getting sort of a whine in the morning. it goes away after a few minutes of drving. but its bothering the hell out of me.

anyways this morning i opened the hood and check to see where the sound was coming from. here is a picture to briefly illustrate. now remember there are some stuff missing in the picture but its just to give you an idea.

Upload

the sound seems to be coming from the area of the big wheel. what the hell is that wheel called?

also the belt that goes around the alt and stuff is called the seraphim belt?

Silver Member
Username: Big_edge_head

Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA

Post Number: 871
the flywheel

serpentine belt

im no mechanic

Silver Member
Username: Talon01

12 audioque 2.5 145.2 ..., Pa Usa

Post Number: 482
you have a honda chad, looks and sounds like the power steering pump is getting ready to go

Platinum Member

-apem

Post Number: 15873
okay scott let me ask you this then. i know it whines when i turn the steering wheel but it also whines if i step on the gas. even though i don't turn the steering wheel, it just whines if i step on the gas also. so if the steering pump is going bad will it do that when i step on the gas as well?

also if the steering pump is bad, is that an expensive fix?

Silver Member
Username: Talon01

12 audioque 2.5 145.2 ..., Pa Usa

Post Number: 483
yes and what kind of car, probally not cheap
at my dealership a jeep p/s pump runs 700.00

Silver Member
Username: Tiki89

Post Number: 207
just get a power steering pump from the junkyard or if you dont have the tools to go take one out look for a part store were they sell rebuilt ones so it wont be that expensive. How about a real picture? lol its kinda hard to tell what that big wheel is from that picture you posted.

Silver Member
Username: Cblaze

Rock island, Tenesssee Us

Post Number: 616