6'9"' & (6'3/4" or 6'5"') - what are the best for the money?

Username: Pevan

New York

Post Number: 1
Hello,

I am new to the game. Trying to get the most possible sound out of 6'9" for the back and 6'3/4" for the front in a 2003 Elantra. I am not looking for an amp so my story ends with a head unit only.

Here is what I am thinking about so far...

Head unit
Alpine CDE-9881
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-4O5zvHLnrRA/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?g=300&i=500C DE9881&tp=5684

Speakers

Front
Alpine SPS-17C2 6'5" 2-way
Infinity Kappa 652.7i 6'3/4" 2-way
Infinity Kappa 63.7i 6'5" 3-way

Back
Alpine SPS-69C3 6'9" 3-way
Infinity Kappa 693.7i 6'9" 3-way

Here is the speaker comparison
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/CompareItems.aspx?CompareItems=16415,168 17,15358,15351,15369

I would prefer to have the 3-way in the front as well. How is the set-up? Recommendations? Are the Kappa's worth the money? Read that they go really loud and I would like that since I am not looking to get an amp. Anyway, would appreciate feedback. Thanks.

Bronze Member
Username: 07ramjam

Post Number: 13
I think the Infinity's are amazing speakers.They play loud and very clear.Alot of people dont like them because they are too "bright".I like everything they offer.The only problem is that you're not getting an amp.The Infinity's are alittle power hungry and really shine with an amp.If your not going to get an amp I wouldnt get the Kappa's.I cant comment on the Alpines,but before I got my amp I had some Polks and I liked them as well.You might want to look into those.

New York

Post Number: 2
David, thanks much for your response.

I am not going for hear me on the next block type of thing. I would like the clearest sound possible, where I won't miss out on the low's, mid's, or high's. I think the Alpine's start distorting when the volume approaches max. Something the kappa's won't do.