Amp power wire & fuse block confusion

kj
Unregistered guest
i am in the process of installing a 2 channel amp with the intent of buying another amp (mono) shortly. i don't want to run more power wiring than i need for both.

i'm new at this & not certain which wire gauge & therefore fuse block/distributor setup to use. my stuff is kinda low-end because i can't spend a lot of money for costly setups. the 2 channel amp is a kenwood 529 (~80W x 2 max.) it replaced a really cheap 15W amp. i intend to buy either a jbl bp150.1 or alpine mrv-100M or mrp-200m or similar (basically a 150-200W RMS amp).

i was intending to run 12 gauge wire for the 2 channel amp, but after researching seems i should run 8-10 gauge for the mono amp?? any thoughts as to how to make this work with fuse block set up for both amps? any help is TREMENDOUSLY appreciated.

btw, the 2 channel amp is installed but not working with the existing wiring. i measured the voltage at the amp & it was only getting ~8-9 volts?? i believe the previous cheap amp it replaced had power wire tied in to the headunit power wire - not directly from the battery. is this why i get low voltage there?

Bronze Member
Username: Cainer

Camberley, Surrey England

Post Number: 14
do you have both amps in the back of your car kj?
i have 2 in the back of mine i use a 4gauge cable directly off the battery to the larger amp with an 8gauge cable looping off it to the smaller amp and everything seems to work fine,
this works fine for me but im no expert so hopefully GlassWolf,its_bacon12 or jonathan will let you know whats best for you

kj
Unregistered guest