Capacitors and Farads

Bronze Member
Username: Hambone907

Post Number: 17
I am new to capacitors, and i am having to learn a lot in a short time so that i can power a system. So ive been looking at reviews and specs with farads and etc. So as far as im concerned 1 farad = 1000 watts. So if i had 1000 RMS, i am guessing that i would need a 2 farad cap, maybe 3 to be safe. Can anyone help me out?

Bronze Member
Username: Aj1218

Post Number: 55
Caps should almost never be used for car audio. To me they are only for cosmetic purposes. I would suggest getting a hi output alternator rather than wasting money on a cap

And yes 1 farad is good for 1000watts (500RMS)

what kind of amplifier are you running?

Username: Zxhoon

Post Number: 2
so AJ, what about the caps that are inside the amps on the power supply? there is a use for caps in car audio systems and if your alternator/battery keeps up with your system most of the time a cap will help out with big bass hits... there is no way your alternator will supply the current needed instantly when you have a big sub pumping, battery will take up the short fall but a cap is even better, they are used for filtering/smoothing the supply they dont increase the capacity of your charging system...

Gold Member
Username: Nd4spd18

Northwest PA

Post Number: 3217
AJ's got this one covered..... external caps do pretty much nothing.

All amplifiers have some amount of internal capacitance. Think about it, if the amp needed more, it would be built with it.

Silver Member
Username: Holt_champ

Htown, MI

Post Number: 863
well i have a 200 amp alt and a second battery in my trunk. it doesnt help with the dimming at all. what could i do to stop the dimming? i am using a kx2500.1 amp.

Melbourne, Victoria Australia

Post Number: 8
I love the misinformation that abounds on sites like this...