Amp for 10" infinity subs

Luke
I just bought two 10" Infinity reference series subs (250W RMS) I want to know what amp/output would be best for these subs as far as hard bass but still maintaining clarity. I'm new to car audio, but have heard that having an amp that runs in the upper 1/3 is good, as in 150W?

John Kent
Hey luke. Nice subs. My friend owns infinity 10" subs and they pound! If each sub handles 250w rms then I would recommend at least a 1000 watt amp. You can find good Rockford Fosgate amps for less than $300. I saw one the other day on sale for $250 (1200 watts). I bought all my stuff at Best Buy and Circuit City. A good 1000 watt amp will feed each of your subs about 200w @ 2 ohms. That's more than enough power to set off nearby car alarms. Make sure it is a 2 channel amp. My brother used to buy imitation amps (for the price) only to have them break down on him. Rockford Fosgate is the only one that I know of that lasts for years. Everybody I know has a Fosgate amp that's at least 5 years old. It's more expensive but it pays off in the end.