2ohms compared to 4ohms? help

Bronze Member
Username: Spivey17323

Dunellen, New jersey United states

Post Number: 90
i have an alpine type r subwoofer... will bridging the amp to 600 watts x 4ohms sound better or 400 watts x 2 ohms sound better. can the sub handle 600 watts at 4ohms? sorry if its a dumb question but im new to this

Silver Member
Username: Dakangofkrunk16

Post Number: 479
Depends on the Voice Coil

Dual 2ohm VC which it would say 2ohm + 2ohm = 1 and 4 ohm stable....This will be the 4ohm stable

Dual 4ohm VC Which would say 4ohm + 4ohm = 2 and 8 ohm stable....This would obviously be the 2ohm load

Silver Member

Post Number: 480
I© thats the symbol

Gold Member
Username: The_image_dynamic

San Diego

Post Number: 1725
Josh you have those amp ratings all wrong... what is the make and model?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 93
hmmm still confused... i think my type r is the swr 1042d... and its 4ohms dual voice coils or somethin... it should be able to take 600 watts by 4ohms right?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 94
well alpine mrp m450... and the sub i have is the alpine swr 1042 d...

Gold Member

San Diego

Post Number: 1726
With the 1042 you will want to wire it to 2 ohms like this. You can't get a 4 ohm load from a dual 4.

Upload

Bronze Member

Post Number: 95
ooooooooo ok thanx man

Gold Member

San Diego

Post Number: 1727
The m450 will put out 200 to each coil at 4 ohms. That would work ok. Disregard the above diagram and run one channel to each voice coil.

Silver Member

Post Number: 483
That would be left Channel Pos Neg to Pos Neg on sub and same for other side and Right Channel

Gold Member

San Diego

Post Number: 1728
No. It would be the + of channel one and the - of channel two to one coil. Then the + of channel three and the - of channel 4 to the other coil.

Silver Member

Post Number: 487
That is what i was tryin to say...But it is hard to understand...i guess...You explained it better tho