Sub box

Username: Flamesfan12

Post Number: 1
hey everyone,
im very new at doing this sort of thing,
and i need your advice, tommorrow im goin to pick up my new sub (a 12" alpine E series (SWE-1242)) and i want to build my own box, i want it to have an angled front box shape, and to be vented. the box i want has to fit in a 35"W 16"H and 17" depth area.

i know how to build a sealed box, but i have only a small idea when it comes to vented, ive been looking at threads and help columns over the internet and it seems to be a very exact science.

Any way my question is if ne one could possibly design me a box and give me the specifications, or give me some intrusctions i can use to design my own (dumbed down so i can understand them).

Silver Member
Username: Liqdfire3

Lee high acres, Florida

Post Number: 177
not the best choice in sub, but alpine is a good company to start off with. im am by far NOT the greatest box builder on here, but i do consider myself a decent one. so here is a box plan that gives you basically all you need to know about the box. tuning, net volume, external dimensions and a cut sheet. but building a box isnt just puttin screws in the pieces, cuttin holes to mount the sub and wang away. you should really take your time and make good cuts. i use a jigsaw to make all my cuts. measure twice, cut once. as far as piecing everything together, everyone does things differently. i personally put up the front baffle first, then the port pieces, the work from left to right all the way back around the box. and the top is last. but assemble them as shown on the webpage i am providing for you.good luck bro and hope this might help out a little. i know the other guys on here will put in their .02 too so. but if you need to know anything else, just ask. (screw length, spacing, sealant, etc.)

http://www.subwoofertools.com/forum/ported-box.asp?Ew=28&Eh=15&Dia=6&Xmax=11.7&V d=.09&NumW=1&Vb=1.8&Fb=35&Qts=&Vas=&Fs=&CE=0

Post Number: 3
aight thanks alot,