Install Help Please...

Silver Member
Username: Pitbullguy

Chicago, Illinois I Eats Beats...

Post Number: 496
Now that i finally got rid of my crown vic for my new Jeep, i can start putting in my system...I'm not very experienced with installs but i'd like to learn this time around by doing everything myself if possible...

...i'm looking at grabbing a Pioneer Premier 680mp HU in the near future and i'm wondering how difficult it really would be to un-install my JGC's current cd player, and install the pioneer HU...

...will i need to get any tools/accessories/wiring that DO NOT come with the pioneer HU?? Is it gonna involve taking apart the whole front dash in my jeep? or is it pretty basic???

like i said i'm a total newbie to this so feel free to give me even the most basic of info/tips...thanks!

Gold Member
Username: 54danny54

KY More Wang Th...

Post Number: 3274
ur gonna need a phillips head screw driver
something to pop the panels safely thats around the head unit.
and a wiring harness for ur year of Jeep
heres a vid on how to
http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com/S-zIIDxyFDrz3/learningcenter/car/car_stereo/in stallation_video.html?movie=receiverinstall&format=mov
your pioneer MIGHT come with those DIN things to pull the radio, if not, walmarts got em for like 6 bux

Silver Member

Post Number: 497
i can get a 680mp new on EBAY for like just under $200, crutchfield's sellin the 680mp for $220 but you get the master sheet with all kindsa install info. + wire harness + In dash receiver kit all for free with that price...seems worth it for an extra $20

Gold Member

KY More Wang Th...

Post Number: 3275
yep it really does, and if you look at it, crutchfields stereo prices arent that bad.

Silver Member

Post Number: 499
thanks havoc...anyone else, advice? potential problems to look out for?

Gold Member
Username: Matt12490

California USA

Post Number: 1562