I need new 6-1/2" speakers mb componets any suggestions??

Bronze Member
Username: Gus738

Post Number: 33
hey everyone well im getting ready to upgrade my 06 honda civic ex 2dr couple and i was wondering what are the best i can get for a reasonable price ??? i could careless about brands but lately i was looking at the fellowing ,

* Polk Audio MMC6500

* Polk Audio db6500

* kicker SS65.2

the db componet seem to have a better specs minus the 25-50 watts rms compared to the mmc6500
while the kicker seems to be more "branded" then what it actually does , can i please have everyones opinion ohh and are componets really worth more then coax spkrs???? or just a lil diffrense?

Silver Member
Username: Warlok

Orlando, FL USA

Post Number: 139
I have no experience with the above sets, but Im thinking for the money, you can get better, they look pretty solid, but the carbon fiber thing, not my cup of tea.

But anyways, with a component set, you can achieve a better stage ... period. Also, the play back output, is goin to be better because its has seperate designated crossovers. Usually in a comp set, the crossovers usually are made by a network of electonic components (caps, inductors, resistors, etc...) Coax, have the same, but on a much smaller level. Coax will have a cap soldered behind the tweeter, you will also find some sort of lower freq cutt off device for the woofer as well. Component x-overs have options that will increase the operating efficiencies, allow you balance the tweet and woofer so that output levels bwtween the 2 match depending on your acoustical desires. IN a coax, you can do none of that, just mount and aim to different places. Components have the option of coax operation, full serperation, or any blend in the middle. You can also Bi-amp a comp set.

Gold Member
Username: Alteraudiousa

Concord

Post Number: 1417