Help with my amp?

Username: Allensimpson

Post Number: 2
Okay, newbie here. Followed the tutorial on installing an amp. Got the Amp installation kit w/8 or 9 gauge wire for the power and ground. Drilled thru the frame, and fished the power cable up to my +12 volt battery. grinded off the paint and grounded about 12-16inches from the amp. got the remote cable connected to the stereo. So all is said and done, I've got my head unit running to 4 speakers front & back left & right, and the rca sub output from my head unit running into the amp. (This is a new 450 watt jensen from target. The power cable measures 12 volts, the rem cable measures 12 volts, I pop them into the amp and the blue jensen light on the top comes on, the standby light comes on for about 5 seconds then shuts off. And the power cable now drops and reads 6 volts. Obviously not enough power to run it, but I'm not sure why. this is the 2nd jensen unit I've tried, and also tried a working kicker that I pulled from my truck. If I pull the cables off the amp, they all read 12 again. The battery reads 12, cold, and with the amp pluged in and with the van running. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I just wanna here some thump, when I listen to will smith...J/K

Gold Member
Username: Redliner

Wilmington, Ma

Post Number: 2947
might be the amp otherwise maybe check ur rca's and grd wires make sure grd is tight on because sometimes goes weird

Gold Member
Username: Redliner

Wilmington, Ma

Post Number: 2948
or maybe u have ur subs wired to a diff ohmload that ur amp cannot take so it just cuts off

Gold Member
Username: Lbeckner

Tulsa, Ok Usa

Post Number: 1310
yeah. try disconnecting everything but the power and remote wires and see if this still occurs. check your power and ground wiring. you should use a through bolt and a nut to attatch the gound ring terminal and not a sheet metal screw.

Post Number: 3