Complete newbie... please help.

Username: Catalyst

Post Number: 1
Okay, here is my problem. I am looking to put 2 6x9s in my car for some added bass. Before everyone starts saying buy a sub let me explain. I don't want people to hear me comming a mile away. I just want some nice sounding bass inside the car. As far as I can see 6x9s are about what I am looking for. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on some decent 6x9s with nice bass. I was looking at a pair of Alpine type S, but I hear the type R is alot better. Should I go with the type r or scrap Alpine all together? I am going to buy an amp to hook up my 6x9s and a pair of 6.5 in my hatch. I have a pair of 6.5 in the front doors I am going to power with my head unit (88 rms)Again this probably sound very elementary to most of you guys, but any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

P.S. I listen to mostly rock and a scattering of rap here and there.

Silver Member
Username: Thumping_corsica

Saginaw, miUnitd states

Post Number: 109
88 rms by 4??? thats a powerful hu:-)

Gold Member
Username: Tjmutlow

Post Number: 3088
yeah, 22w per channel, and if your turn it up, your going to get distorted power and sound, no matter what speaker you put in it, if you wnat no sub, then at least put an amp on the speakers you put in.

Silver Member
Username: Dsmith07

Post Number: 172
i got the jl audio TS 6" in the door and 6x9 in the rear hatch and those speakers give me good bass without a sub but im the kind of person who i want you to hear me coming so they arent enough for me and my speakers arent even on a amp they are powered by my headunit 18x4 i paid 280 for my speaks with 1 year warranty from JL, i like them.

Silver Member

Post Number: 176
oops JL audio TR*****

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the info derek. I will deffinatly look into those speakers. Do you have them mounted on the deck or in boxes? I dont have anywhere to mount 6x9s, so Ill have to put them in boxes.

Post Number: 3