Replacing OEM 2-ways with Infinity 6010cs -- wiring question.

Username: Mwietstock

Post Number: 1
Hi, car stereo gods. I'm a newbie, wanting to replace the OEM two-way component speakers in the front doors of a 2001 Suburban (yes OnStar, no BOSE) with a set of Infinity 6010cs components, using the factory locations and wiring, and running off the OEM Delco head unit (CD/FM/AM, remote cassette). I realize the speakers will be a bit underpowered, and I will probably end up upgrading with a matching amp, rear door speakers and subwoofer at some point, but the front door speakers are all I want to do for now.

My question is this. I assume that when I open up the door panel, I'm going to find two separate, two-line (-/+) leads running to the OEM tweeter and woofer. Do I just mate these leads together at the single input terminal for the Infinity crossover unit?

Thanks for your help.

Post Number: 4
Burning incense and praying for someone who knows ...

Silver Member
Username: Johammbass

Cork, Co.Cork Ireland

Post Number: 347
Hmm, btw, in that that Suburban is there an OEM amplifier that you know of? There could be some in-line OEM x-overs so you wouldn't want to x-over twice:-)

Post Number: 5
No separate OEM "amp" that I'm aware of, but I haven't pulled out the Delco head unit or traced any of the lines, so I couldn't really say for sure. I don't even know what the output power is on the head unit, since I can't seem to locate any specs for the Delco system ANYWHERE.

As far as "crossing over twice," that's a big reason I posted the question. For example, I'm assuming that if there are separate woofers/tweeters in the front doors, there must be some kind of crossover feeding them somewhere ... either a stand alone (like the Infinity one) between the head unit and the speakers, or a cross-over circuit built into the head unit, which might be disabled for single speakers through use of alternate output sources on the back of the head unit ... ??