Help me with my do-it-yourself spare tire enclosure.

Bronze Member
Username: Style_front

Post Number: 12
To open this up I will start by saying I have never worked with glass before but plenty with wood and other misc. carpentry applications and more.... and I am a little embaressed to say I jumped on the band wagon by buying an ed.nine and Fi Q15 this last week. I would ussually like to hear these things myself before investing but you guys had an aweful lot of good to say about both units, and I went ahead and purchased. I'm trying to figure out if I can fit my FI q15 in a stealthy spare tire well enclosure and I'm trying to mount the sub (looking for 2.5 sealed) and amplifier subsurface mounted. I can invision it, where the amp is sunk into the box (or flush mounted), and the sub is also flush mounted covered by a speaker grill and the factory carpet concealing the entire system. It may possibly raise the entire floor of the trunk up a few inches, but thats fine because it will still save alot of space compared to putting a large mdf box in the back. Any help, or possibly pictures and a write up would be awesome.

The purpose for this is that I live in a city with a high crime rate and if my gear is out of sight then it is out of mind. I know it's not best for sound to cover a speaker but I can't imagine a thin piece of carpet standing much in the way of a 15 inch speaker and 1000 watts. My car is an 96 eclipse hatchback, if youve seen any spare tire enclosures in this car I would be curious to see or hear about them as well. In advance, Thanks for any and all input you guys have to offer. I'm headed for a long haul project.

Gold Member
Username: Crayola0

Wisconsin

Post Number: 1262
just tint ur windows if u havnt already and at night it will help prevent them from seein it and dont bump ur music were u live or park u car.

Silver Member
Username: Astrosafari

Delhi, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 604