Need Head Unit Recommendations $100-$150

Bronze Member
Username: Sackohammers

Post Number: 61
I have no experience here. Mostly just in Home Theatre. Girld Friend's care needs a new stereo.

Want to play MP3 discs... right now her '97 Honda Accord only has tape deck.

The first thing I saw was this Sony:
http://www.xplodsony.com/xplod/headunits/CDX-GT200

She also has an iPod and I noticed that this Sony head unit had an aux jack in the front, so it looks like hooking up the iPod would be easy.

Thoughts, input, head unit recommendations highly appreciated.
We're going with stock speakers for now. The main reason for the upgrad is for features... specifically upgrading from tape deck to CD and MP3.
Thanks in advance.

P.S. Some afterthoughts. Best Buy offered $40 install. That sounds tempting. But what if I find a stereo cheaper on line. What prices can I expect for an install. I'm in Austin, TX... seems most common place for installs would be Custom Sounds. Any thoughts on that?
OH, the salesmen also recommended a "speaker saver" which was some kind of regulator to keep from blowing the factory speakers. I guess it would run an extra $20 to do both pairs. Are these just BS or do you think it would be worth it for this application?

Thanks a lot guys.

Silver Member
Username: Makmillion

United States

Post Number: 177
Install it yourself! It's easy and these guys on the forum can walk you through that.

With that said, DO NOT BUY SONY IF YOU INTEND TO USE THE STEREO FOR LONGER THAN THE WARRANTY COVERS IT. As soon as the warranty expires, and before that in alot of cases too, you will have a pile of stereo that doesn't work.

look into Pioneer units, like the DEH-P4800, and buy an extention cable to go from the aux input on the back of the stereo to the ipod, you could run it through the glovebox so when you're not using it you can store it in there... and best of all, it's easy to install.

Silver Member
Username: Makmillion

United States

Post Number: 178