Mecury Villager Disaster

Username: Yocatbob

Post Number: 1
Hello all,
Heres the deal:
My younger brother just got his license the other day and decided to put a new head unit into his 1995 Mercury Villager.
I was under the impression he would take it to circuit city or someplace and have them do it, but instead I guess he tried to do it himself which was a huge mistake.
I've been trying to fix his work, since I have some experience, but I gotta plead ignorance here.

So he cut the factory wire harness connecting into the factory head unit and he doesnt remember which wire goes where. Furthermore the wires were all pulled out of their slots so I have no clue where stuff goes. I took the harness to the electronics department at my work and they were able to solder new wires to the pins.

(I included pictures below if you cant figure out what I'm talking about from the description)
The factory head unit is a ford premium system with 4 wires, 1 large grey connector, 1 connector with blue and yellow wires, 1 connector that was not connected to anything(to integrate another head unit) and the L shaped connector that was cut.

I thought it might be easier to just put in the cd player (an aiwa cdc-x227) so I went to Circuit City and they sold me a ford integration wire harness. I assume that the black piece goes to the thick grey wire plug and the grey piece goes to the L part that was spliced. The problem is I still dont know the pinout.

On top of all this the gauge lights in the dash no longer work (short?)which is the biggest problem in my mind.

If someone could help me at fix the gauge lights I would be very grateful. The radio and new head unit are secondary, it would be nice if I could fix it one way or the other but I could care less if they work or not as long as the gauge lights work.

So there are 8 pins on the spliced connector and 7 wires, grey, brown/yellow, orange, brown/white, pink, pink black, brown.