Alpine CDA-9856

Username: Wickyaaron

Post Number: 1
I just bought this head unit to run my system...I am running it with an Alpine 4-channel amp to drive 4 MB Quart Speakers and I have a Bazooka powered sub too. I can't figure out the frequency settings to make it sound clean throughout all styles of music. Does anyone have a good setting they are using with this for the bass and treble to avoid making my speakers sound like they are going to blow in some songs?

Gold Member
Username: Illuminator

USA

Post Number: 3126
Use the HPF (high pass filter) and set it to around 100Hz, then only frequencies of 100Hz and above will go to the MB quarts, and not the lows which will distort them easier and make it likely for them to get blown.

Post Number: 2
HPF on the head unit or the amp? I am a rookie at this stuff but I love loud, clean sound...which is why I am frustrated...
Thanks for the quick response...

Post Number: 3
I got it...on the amp...now what do you know about the seetings on the head unit? There is quite a bit of adjustment options for the frequency ranges on that too...

Thanks...

Gold Member
Username: Illuminator

USA

Post Number: 3128
Try using the HPF on the head unit as well, it will help quite a bit. If you have the bazooka hooked up to the sub output, the turn on the LPF on the headunit and set it to 100HZ, where all frequencies below that will be let through, but none above (theoretically).

Silver Member
Username: Johammbass

Cork, Cork Ireland

Post Number: 258
If you set the HP on the amp, you don't need to set it on HU. How much power are you running to those MBQ's? And what MBQ's are those? In general, that metal dome wants very clean power, it does not hide anything.

Silver Member
Username: Mixneffect

Orangevale, Ca. USA

Post Number: 1000
I have that same HU.

Set your Alpine amp HPF to 125 Hz or higher.