Help connecting 2 amps and 6 speakers

Username: Shizzle420

Post Number: 1
hi all, this is my first post. I am just learning about car audio setups, as I have done mostly home audio stuff. Any assistance would be appreciated.

I have recently installed a One channel VR3 300 watt amp to a Pioneer 15" sub. It is connected to the amp RCA line out on the stereo. Not a high end amp for sure, but it sounds decent.

The bass is good but the highs and mids get alittle drowned out. So I picked up a 4 channel 400 watt VR3 amp to drive the front and rears.

I also bought TWO extra 6x9 enclosures and speakers.

What a project I have on my my hands now, as I have no idea how to wire this up.

So there will be TWO amps used. I have wiring already to the sub amp mounted under the seat.
Includes 12v power, the antenna wire, and the ground. Can I just spice into that?

The car radio (also vr3) does have RCA outputs for an amp AND a sub (4 total outputs). (I know the amp preout will need to be "split" to the 4 channel amp)

I have consider these options:

1) use my exisitng equipment - most preferred
OR
2) just use the 400 watt only, and have one channel to the rear and the other drive the amp, but the amp power would only be 100rms compared to the 150 it is now, cutting the bass)
OR
3) Buy a DIFFERENT amp which has 5 channels, and will drive 4 full range speakers AND a sub. That would require selling the other 2 amps and getting something else. Perhaps an option in the future, and only if I cant make this work right.

Would appreciate some expert advice on how to do this.

Do I have to run TWO separate lines for each amp? Does it make good sense to use TWO amps? Is it ok to mount them next to eachother? Can I just add the new speakers to the new amp, using 6 speakers total (2 that are powered)?

confused, please help.

Gold Member
Username: Tjmutlow

Post Number: 2278