Are amps supposed to...

Silver Member
Username: Paps

Yuma, AZ

Post Number: 109
...get REALLY hot after like only 10mins of playing music? the gain is only set about 2/5 of the way, not even halfway. the amp gets really hot. is there anything i can do to keep it cooler longer. i dont want to fry the amp so im usually running the gain all the way down now... :-(

Gold Member
Username: Chaunb3400

Huntsville, Alabama U.S.

Post Number: 7364
yeah, amps get real hot...

just make sure u have everything wired right, and ur independence is not to low

Silver Member
Username: Mr_kebo

Albertville, Al USA

Post Number: 347
My class A/B get real hot, like to hot to touch.

Silver Member

Yuma, AZ

Post Number: 110
ah ok, thanks guys, this is my first system ever, so im kinda new to all this. i didnt know if this was normal or not, thanks again.

Silver Member
Username: Scott_debaker

Pittsburgh, P.A. U.S.A.

Post Number: 381
if ur amp is gettin super hot thats not go0d u better wire ur ohms higher not lower or ur gonin 2 fry ur amp

Silver Member
Username: Ton

Post Number: 105
you wrote:
the gain is only set about 2/5 of the way, not even halfway.

this is not the best way to set your gain. Gain is not a volume knob like you think it is, it's for matching your HU voltage with the Amp. do a searh on how to set your gain properly.

maybe you have a HU that have a higher preamp voltage output?

yes, check your independence is not to low.

what sub and how many you have? single voice coil or dual voice coil?

what Amp do you have?

Silver Member
Username: Mr_kebo

Albertville, Al USA

Post Number: 349
im running the amp at 4 ohms. its the eD NINe.2x

Silver Member
Username: Alias747

MN

Post Number: 995