How to Set up an amp??

Bronze Member
Username: Aman2005

Post Number: 88
Hello everyone. As I am a newbie in car audio, I want to know that how to power up an amp to power up the subs. I mean how to setup an amp in the car. Do anyone know in detail? From opening the amp from the box to powering up the music system? SO I can do it myself without any ahrm to either car or my music system?
Also want to know if I put two batteries in car to power a bigger amp, how the load on alternator will be lesser?

Username: Dandandan

Brisbane, Queensland Australia

Post Number: 2
omg im 12 and i know how to hook up amps to cars to power up subs

Bronze Member

Post Number: 89
then y the hell u don't tell me???

Silver Member
Username: Alteraudiousa

Concord

Post Number: 818
ok well here's a start:

#1: discounnect battery connections so you don't fry yourself or some other electrical equipment

#2: find a place to run your power wire from the battery to wherever you decided to put an amp. You will need to find a place at the firewall to run the power wire through or drill a hole and use a grommet.

#3: While you're running your power wire you may as well go ahead and connect your fuse holder somewhere up close to where the battery is and before the wire goes through the firewall.

#4: Next you will need to run a remote wire from the radio(its typically a solid blue wire from the HU or any wire that gets its signal once the car is turned to ACC or ON). But run a wire from that wire all the way to the back to where your amp is.

#5: While you're behind your radio if you're using RCAs run the RCAs also. Don't put the RCAs running along near the power wire. Run it on the opposite side of the car.

#6: So now you're at the trunk or wherever your amp is. You will need to find a good grounding spot so look behind your trunk carpet for a factory grounding spot and ground the black wire there.