OT-noob wiring help

Silver Member
Username: Kingjames

OH USA

Post Number: 155
alright im a compltete noob to anything wiring related. i just got my pioneer 680 in the mail and i want to wire it but im not sure how, do u just cut the wires strip them and crimp them to the HU wires? then just plug in the rest of the stuff? and will the wire colors be the saem i have a grand prix 2001

Silver Member
Username: Afroopuff

Post Number: 110
NOOOOOO!!!!

Dont just cut the wires, unless your hardcore broke!! if you have like 20 bucks, run to ur local audio shop such as like a best by or circuit city and ask about a wiring kit for your head unit. With those bad boys you just through a few wires togather and its a piece of cake....self explanitory.

OR

if you feel confident....extremely confident....you can look up a wiring diagram on the interney for your grand prix and cap the wires togather...that is way more difficult and not a lot of room for mistake because the car wire gets smaller and smaller.....i learned that the hard way

Gold Member
Username: Redliner

Wilmington, Ma

Post Number: 1895
lol i capped all of them together and just cut them cause the wiring harness that was suppose to fit didnt the person that owned it before me screwed it up bubt ya its not worth it just get the harness from best buy or circuit city for like 20 bucks

Silver Member

Post Number: 113
haha charlie...i did the same thing my first time....talk about hell. internet wiring diagrams always wrong and stuff...haha after i ended up hookin it up for like the 3rd tiem and blowing 2 different fuses from hitting wire to medal... i hooked it up so the damn thing only works when the lights are on... and im still not sure what i did wrong

P.S. i use the ... way to much i just realized haha

Gold Member

Wilmington, Ma

Post Number: 1899