Dimming help

Gold Member
Username: Southern_bass

Paris, Tennessee U.S.

Post Number: 2103
ive got 600 - 650 watts on a stock alternator in a f150 . I have a pioneer deh 7700 and its got a battery voltage meter and when i get to about 53 / 62 on a good bass songs the lights start blinking .. not crazy bad but they do lol ... but ive never saw it drop below 13.9 , 13.8 .. is this alright ? if i upgrade the big 3 you think i could handle 900 watts >

Silver Member
Username: Highstone

Post Number: 164
i'm no expert. but i think if you do the big 3 it will/should be able to support 650 watts . u might be able to play ur radio 62/62 (650 watts). However i doubt that 900 watts will be supported with big 3 on ur stock alternator.

Gold Member
Username: Theelfkeeper

Stockbridge, GA USA

Post Number: 1956
you'll never be able to play a radio at max volume. it'll start clipping and sending that clipped signals on to be abplified if you do. thats why its always said to tune the gains with the HU volume only up 3/4 of the way. doesn't matter what kind of HU you have.

its best to use a DMM on the battery itself rather then reley on a HU built in Volt meter. if it botheres you or starts to blink worse you'll need to look into a HO Alt.

the big 3 will help, but won't do anything amazing if the power isn't there to begin with.

Gold Member
Username: B101

Queen City, NC USA

Post Number: 2703
HU VOM?? LOL :-)
dude put a DMM on that thing.. on the battery!
Also sounds like u need a HO alternator.. join the grp buy... 200a

Gold Member
Username: Theelfkeeper

Stockbridge, GA USA

Post Number: 1959
i have that HU volt meter in my 880PRS, and its ok, but its not as accurate as a DMM on the battery. if i compare the two, the HU is off.

the group buy would be a good idea to get in if you can.

Gold Member
Username: Southern_bass

Paris, Tennessee U.S.

Post Number: 2113