Showdown: ID Max vs. Stereo Integrity Mag 12"

Bronze Member
Username: Nanbakat

Mexico CityMexico

Post Number: 42
OK...I've narrowed my search for a subwoofer to these two brands. My selection criterion was solely based on sound quality. I listen to a lot of rock and techno and I need a woofer that can keep up with the beat.

I'm going to install only one 12" subwoofer in a sealed fiberglass enclosure in my car, and I'm going to run 1000W rms to it.

I've been monitoring these forums for a few months now and it seems that there is no consensus on which one of these is the better subwoofer.

(I realize that the ID Max v3 is out of production now and that if I chose to buy the ID Max I'd have to buy the new version (v4)...which nobody has heard yet. Presumably the new version will be improved, but for the sake of comparisons let's just talk about the v3 version that people on this list have heard.)

I want to know which is "better". When I say "better" I mean that I want a sub that can seamlessly integrate low-end frequencies with my upfront component speakers. I want it to play crystal clear, note-by-note, with no droning or rumbling. These are my priorities. However, if these subs will also set off car alarms as I drive by then that's just icing on the cake.

1) So which one is best?
2) Why is it better?
3) Where can I get one? (Is anybody on this list a dealer for either company?)

Thanks, guys.

Silver Member
Username: Jkidder

Spring hill, Florida Usa

Post Number: 123
hmm i wonder wat alteraudiousa will say?

Gold Member
Username: Theelfkeeper

Stockbridge, GA USA

Post Number: 1913
lol, Alteraudio really seems to love his SI Mag.

i can't remember the site, but there is someone who sells online. Alter will know.

I haven't heard either in person, so i can't really say which is better. but i do know that there are no IDMAX's being made right now. the new ones will be out around the end of the summer i think.

Bronze Member
Username: Havok13154