Car amp + ipod ?

Unregistered guest
hello, i am really new to the world of car audio but my dad is simi experenced with it. i have a soundstream xta360.2 360 watts 2 channel power amplifier. im sorry if i get any of this wrong like i said im new to this stuff. i have pro audio speaker connect 14 AWG and 2 pioner 5x9 speakers in the rear of my 1987 ford bronco and 2 alpine tweekers up front its a 2 channel amp and my dad said it would be fine to double up the speaker out puts ... i dono if hes right but i listin to him. we had the amp connected to the old head unit power suply but we soon found out it shorts out the fuses so its now connected to the battery with an amp kit.

Connected to the RCA input is my ipod. for like 2 days it worked fine till the fuse blew in the fuse boxy thingy.i changed that out and we got the amp connected the proper way. after the fuse blew i connect my ipod and at low volume it works like a charm but as i raise the volume on the ipod once it hits about half way up the amp goes to stand by and then power and then stand by and so on and the sound skips like a cd player would.

My father said it had to do with the head phone jake impedance and the line in that the ipod and the amp didnt match up. but if this is so why did it work for 2 days with out a glitch. well thats my problem any help is apricated

Gold Member
Username: Carguy

Post Number: 5289
Your dad is partly correct.
With car audio, you need to watch the minimum ohm requirements. The amp you have might be 2ohm stable in stereo mode. If you double up on the speakers, it'll lower the resistance, forcing the amp to work overtime.
With tweeters, you will need crossover. Without it, it'll just blow/damage them.
Like all electronic installs, it needs to be done properly. The power connectors/fuses built in the cars only support 15A-20A the most. Car amps require at least 30A or higher to operate.
If you see fuses blowing, it's a good sign that you're drawing too much current/power.