DB/OCT

Bronze Member
Username: Ilyawizard

Post Number: 30
In setting up a crossover (in Alpine) what does db/oct mean and how does it affect the sound? I'm new at this. Is there a good manual on setting up a xover?

Silver Member
Username: Fandim

Reno, Nevada United State...

Post Number: 680
how steep a slope is per octave. if it will decrease it like 6, 12, 18, or some even have 24 db per octave slopes. Most people aim for an 18dB slope, which should be more than sufficient.

Bronze Member
Username: Safe_cracker

Chicago, IL US

Post Number: 52
Ya, my sx1250's have a variable between 6 and 48db slope on the LP and 3 to 24dbs on the HP. So you say shoot for around 18db? now what the hell is the Bandwidth setting in the bass boost adjustment? ;) Polo..

Bronze Member
Username: Ilyawizard

Post Number: 37
Ok, i got that thing about decibels, but how much is an octave??? I'm guessing it measures in Hz?

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Wisteria, Lane USA

Post Number: 10880
www.bcae1.com
look at the sections on crossovers, EQs, and slope.
it's all explained and diagramed.

Silver Member
Username: Racer501

ND USA

Post Number: 291
Mr. Bill at caraudio.com explains it fairly well: