New generation Digital Amp + MB Quart ...Distortion

Username: Saint_wrath

Post Number: 2
Hi, this is pretty frustrating. I'm a total newbi when it comes to car audio, and I just did a self install with a new JVC KD-AR8500, which as the new generation D-Amp 70wX4. Supposingly giving out sweet tight sound while archeiving 90% efficiency.

I used Cascade Audio VBlok VB-2HD for both front door(BTW, these sucker are thick, on japanese car dun try it, took me two days to do), install the speakers MB Quart PCE-216 at the front.

The back is a pair of cheap KENWOOD KFC-1679ie. NOW this is another mystery.....Now I got three sets of speakers for the rear when I was doing the install (the other two are coaxial Rockford T162C, and component Polk DB6500), and I compare them all right on spot with the head (use stinger 18G wire), guess what, the cheapest pair Kenwood win. The Rockford is so harsh mid and high, it has some metal feel. And looking at the cone material it is. The DB6500 has absolutely no midbass; mid yes, midbass no. For rear I just need super warm mid/midbass. The kenwood is acceptable until I find another pair of mid.

Now comes the Sherlock Holms question. I've been using them all for a month now (no sub yet, will install infinity Basslink...so the complete package would have NO amp visible at all). And even with the Head being 70RMS (advertised), Volumn at 60% already th eMAX the MB Quart can handle. I mean the adviced power range for them is 60-130. I'm driving it w/ Digital amp in the JVC head unit and it distort right at 60%. Okay the car is a 2 seater, so the Fade is like 75% to the front, but still, WTF, shouldn't it handle all the way. And the actual sound output is not that loud, just a hard-to-talk level.

If this doesn't improve I will have to sell this set and find another pair. But the thing is I've already search for so long to find this pair. With the tweeter inside, the sound stage is decent for a 2 seater already. It's just power level.