Will I be underpowering my speakers?

Username: Labmonkey

Post Number: 3
I crossposted this from Amplifiers because glasswolf and jonathan typically post here and they would probably be able to answer this best.

I just purchased a set of Diamond Hex s600s and s500s (Yes, I know, I don't need rear fill blah blah blah... it's a personal preference) and plan to power them with a Diamond D6600.4 amp. It's a 4 way with 75 RMS 100 peak per channel (and probably underrated). The Diamonds are rated 150 nom/300 max and 100 nom/200 max respectively. I've heard that underpowering the Hexes is a bad thing, but I'm hoping that 75-100 watts of clean power is enough to get them moving and create a decent amount of midbass. The magnets are gigantic, though, so I'm a little worried that I might be being optimistic. I have no first hand experience with the speakers powered by anything other than 300w two-ways. Does anyone have experience with the Hexes or extensive install experience with similar hard-to-drive comps?

Silver Member
Username: N2audio

Lawrence, Ks USA

Post Number: 208
unless those are the least efficient speakers ever made 75 real watts should be more than enough to make those speakers sing. Underpowering is never a problem - setting gains like a moron is.

alteraudiousa
Unregistered guest
underpowering is not good for any speaker. You will be under powering it. Especially since the Diamonds will make more power with more power and make less with less. I had the Diamond D5 300.4 and bridged it and i still think my Monitor 1 mk2.70 made more power. Its ALWAYS better to have headroom and just know what you're doing than to underpower them.

Gold Member
Username: Jonathan_f

GA USA

Post Number: 5355