Protection mode on an Alpine...

Username: Soccer

Post Number: 1
Hi, folks! This is the first time I post, so I guess I'm a newbie with a problem; I have an Alpine Flex356 feeded by a Blaupunkt Daytona MP3. The front speakers are from Lanzar, the rear from Proaudio (6" * 9"). The prob is when I connect the rear ones, the amp runs so hot (green led still on), it cuts out after 10 minutes on a sunny day (I live in Portugal), but I don't wanna throw them away, 'cause they sound so good specially in the bass, I don't need a sub.!!! Seems to me that the speakers go so deep in the bass section, it makes the impedance fall and therefore overheat the amp! On the other hand, the amp has such good sound I'll miss it! Any sugestions?
Thanks in advance!

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 2283
the amp may be wired for too low of a load.

Post Number: 3
How come? It can be wired to provide 2,3,4, or 5 channels, but I never used the sub output!? Plus, right now I'm using the front speakers (Lanzar) in the 2-channels-bridged mode, and it don't even get warm... Is it possible that the rear speakers's coil are made of a to-thick wire to get the impedance too low on the bass section?
TIA

Post Number: 3
How come? It can be wired to provide 2,3,4, or 5 channels, but I never used the sub output!? Plus, right now I'm using the front speakers (Lanzar) in the 2-channels-bridged mode, and it don't even get warm... Is it possible that the rear speakers's coil are made of a to-thick wire to get the impedance too low on the bass section?
TIA

Post Number: 4
Ok, first I have to thank you for your reply!
But I replaced all the terminals at output and speakers (soldered) connections, checked all the wiring several times, don't have a sub and I even replaced the ground cable (trunk floor), by one straight to the battery negative contact... but no results, I still burned my hand, literally!
TIA

Post Number: 5