Noobie Question - Bridging for an add-on Subwoofer

Username: Rarlyl8

Post Number: 1
Great Forum!

I am a real novice to audio and wiring, and thought I might be able to get some good help here. I want to add a subwoofer to my system, and am looking for the best route given my existing components. I really don't want to change the head unit, my existing amp or my existing speakers if I don't have to, but I would like to add either a powered sub or a non-powered sub and another amp. Since I am a novice with this stuff, I will give some specifics on what I have now. I have a Clarion Pro-audio head unit, a Rockford Fosgate Punch amp (4x40) and Boston Acoustic speakers (5.25 front and 6x9 rear). This system is about 7 years old, but it is in a leasure car that gets driven very infrequently. I would like to get a sub that is easy to add to this existing system, that will give good bass sound, and possibly be easy to remove periodically.

My main question is what should I get, and how can I wire it to this existing system? I don't believe the head unit or the amp have a sub output.

Any thoughts? Can I provide more information that might help you provide some answers?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

John

Silver Member
Username: Bestmankind

Los Angeles, CA USA

Post Number: 198
just get a y adaptor and split your inputs to your rear channel of the amp. what gauge is your power cable to your existing amp. if it is thick enough you can get a fuse distribution block and add another from there.

Gold Member
Username: Rovin

Trinidad & T...

Post Number: 2110
Also what size of sub 10/12/15" ?

here is a wiring guide so u can check your cables

http://www.the12volt.com/info/recwirsz.asp

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the quick replies!