Quick Question about OHMS!

Username: Larsntobbs

Post Number: 10
I have 2 jl audio 10'' subs.

The amp is an Orion 4002 400watt 2 channel amp (I think its 400 watt's, its 200x2)

Right now, I have 1 sub in 1 channel, the other in the other channel, Iv been reading about Parralell, and series. Will I benefit from wiring them both in parralell, and plugging into 1 channel, and using them that way.. Any help please, thx.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 12
Also, both subs are 4 ohm version.

Will it hurt my amp, if I run both subs in paralell, in 1 channel, and leave my other open.. Will I benefit from that? or not..

Bronze Member
Username: Scott_t

Post Number: 33
i am new to this but from my electronics class i am in we are doing a lil car audio.. no it wont matterunbless each sub is a diffrent ohms. if thay have the same ohms each sub will still only get 200w each.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 13
Well, the thing is dude, with both of them plugged into there own channel, they only get 100watts each, correct me if im wrong.. But if i parallel them, and go 1 channel, they'll both get 200watts

Right?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 34
no id put 1 sub on each channel or bridge it.using only 1 channel will only put out 200w and witch will only be 100w to each sub

Bronze Member

Post Number: 36
at what ohm dose it put out 400 briged?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 15
http://orioncaraudio.com/amps/2channel.asp

I dont know dude, theres the link, make sure to look under the ''4002''catagory. thx dude

Any help is greatly appretiated

Silver Member
Username: Tdisanto

Post Number: 454
The only problem with wiring subs in parallel and bridging the final load on the amplifier is to make sure that your amp is 2ohm MONO stable. If it is than you have no worries.

In your case, it doesnt matter if you wire your subs in parallel and then bridge the amp, or if you run 1 sub per channel. Both subs will recieve the same amount of power.