New system for 98 Accord - Comp Sub vs Powered Sub

Username: Admiral63

Austin, TX

Post Number: 1
I'm just starting out to build a high SQ system on a low budget (98 Accord) - not interested in SPL particularly.

Gonna figure out the HU after I know what connections I need. Thought I'd start with speakers and amp, then add sub and finally upgrade the HU.

I'm leaning towards a component set of 6.5" in the front and then a sub - no rear speakers, or possibly leaving the rear factory speakers for surround run off the HU.

Among other things, I'm debating buying a 4 chl amp and then building a component sub/enclosure combo - OR - buying a 2 channel amp and a powered sub. What's the opinion SQ of powered subs run off HU vs buying a 4 channel amp and a component sub and and an enclosure? Leaning towards a sealed box enclosure for tighter bass.

Gonna chose brands after I get these issues sorted out.

Opinions? Lotsa thoughts running around with little experience to choose. Appreciate any insight...

Silver Member
Username: Scubasteve

College Park, MD

Post Number: 650
well greg, welcome to the forum. I have some suggestions for you. First, upgrade your source unit. Installing amps with a stock HU is a hassle, and if you plan to upgrade, you're making yourself a lot more work unnecessarily. Plus, you'll have to buy an output converter that you won't need after you upgrade. Second, you have the right idea with speakers. Go with 6.5 components and don't buy anything new for the rear. As for amping the components, I'd get a 4 channel amp and biamp them. This allows you fine tuning of the crossover points and you won't loose power by using the passive crossovers that came with the set. As for the sub, I'd stay away from powered subs. I've heard OK reviews of Infinity's Basslink stuff, but they have no place in a decent setup. I'd get one good SQ sub and an amp capable of pushing it. And yes, go with a sealed box. I'm sure we can help you pick out some stuff if you want.