Conductivity of Steel vs Copper. Grounding Question.

Silver Member
Username: Fandim

Reno, Nevada United State...

Post Number: 183
I was reading some stereo config articles, seeing if there was anything I could do to fine-tune my system, and I came across something saying that it's better to run a second length of wire, equal to that of your power wire, back to the battery??

They say the justification for this, is copper is a LOT more conductive than steel, and by grounding to the chasis, that the ground faces a lot more resistance because of the steel, rather than simply having it flow back through copper wire.

Is there ANY truth to this..? I'm not an electrician, but do know a fair amount about the subject, etc... It seems logical, then again, I dont know enough to actually assume without asking that it would indeed be better..

I know that using aluminum wire, instead of copper, that you should go a size bigger wire..Since the flow of electricity is less through aluminum due to resistance... So using a bigger wire compensates...

But...using that type of thinking... There sure is a lot of steel Chasis for electricity to flow through, so is this why the less ground wire the better? Since it can actually flow through the chasis easier than wiring, due to the amount of steel available, even with a higher resistance?

Seth

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Wisteria, Lane USA

Post Number: 10487
most modern cars use a unibody chassis without an actual full frame, and they use spot welds to hold the car together, so the result is that your chassis is about equal to 4AWG stranded copper when you're talking about conductivity and current flow. If you have an older car it can be a different story.
A lot really depends on the car itself, and how much current you plan to draw through the wire. If you're using 0AWG, yah I'd run dedicated lines for ground and power in most newer cars.