SoundHabit.com = bad service

Hello all,
I'm a retired engineer (health, not money!) who worked as an installer when in college. I've done hundreds of installs, and still do them for friends and relatives. Few things are as satisfying as a well done install, and the look on the face of the owner when done.

I tried to buy some equipment for an install, and ended up at SoundHabit.com. What a mess. I looked through their site, and found a section marked "Spring Cleaning" (SP) where they (I thought) listed items on sale, and also looked at their regularly priced items. I assumed if the item was on this "Spring Cleaning" list they had it in stock, ready to sell. I ordered a pair of Nakamichi 6x9 speakers (not on sale, normal price) and a Nakamichi deck from the SP list. This was on July 26, 2001. I had order numbers from SoundHabit.com, telling me my orders were accepted, and the equipment was in the process of being sent to me.

And I waited.

Two weeks later, I was called, at 11:30, and told they didn't have the Nakamichi speakers. They offered my other makes, but I turned them down. Their offer wasn't very good. If I was going to get different speakers I knew I could do better, which I did.

I made it VERY clear to the person I spoke with, Zack, that I still wanted the Nakamichi deck I ordered. I asked to be called as soon as possible if there were any problems with getting me the deck.

Two more weeks go by, still no deck. In the mean time, I order the Nakamichi speakers from another dealer. One day after placing the order through their web site they call me to tell me these speakers are unavailable. They then offer me a set of Polk DX9 for the same price as the Nakamichis were going to cost me -- a MUCH better deal than SoundHabit.com gave me. I got these Polk speakers four days later.