The basic, beginners thread for car audio

Silver Member
Username: Iufan4lifeul

Louisville, Kentucky

Post Number: 307
Let me just try to help you out a bit, I just have a bit of free time and feel like contributing something. Glasswolf will probably be accredited to some of this stuff. He is a genius.

I am new to car audio, and I confused by definitions, what I need to begin etc...
- I like to refer to crutchfield.com a lot, it has helped me with everything. Great website for beginners. A basic system consists of these essential elements (Alternator, Battery, Power wire, ground wire, speaker wire, Head Unit, amplifier, subwoofers, box, and speakers)

Do I need a bigger alternator?
- For most "starter" systems this is generally a no. A new alternator will only be needed when you proceed into much greater amounts of power.

What type of wires do I need?
- For starter systems, 8 gauge power wire should be sufficient, 4 gauge would be a plus because it would leave you room to expand. As for the speaker wire, anything around 18 gauge should suffice.

What are some good CD players?
- I personally own pioneer and love it but Eclipse, Clarion, and Alpine also make great products. Remember, if on a tight budget, JVC's aren't really that bad.

I am confused about amplifiers wiring and specs, which ones are best for me?
- The specs ARE NOT as important as what people might think, some companies rate their specifications different. The most important thing to look for is the RMS, I repeat, RMS, not peak, power at certain ohms. Try to stay away from Pyle, Legacy, Boss, Sony, Dual, Lanzar, etc. They might look good on paper, but they aren't good.

This is my first system, and I was thinking about adding a capacitor...
- w........h........y? Its your first system, leave it alone. They don't do hardly anything anyways.

Wiring options