1000 watt with two 12" 800 watt subs

Username: Bag3don20z

Post Number: 1
ok,my friend says i could use a 1000 watt amp with my rockford HE-2s,they are 800 watt max 400 rms.if i was too run the amp at 500 to each sub would that be alright.he says i can turn the amp down to limit it to 400 watts so i wont blow my subs.is this true???im new to all this so please dont flame.

Silver Member
Username: Alias747

MN

Post Number: 593
We won't flame, at least you gave good info about your subs and your questions made sense, unlike some people that come in here. If you get an amp that puts out 1000 watts RMS, then you will be good. There are some crappy companies out there that like to say their amps are 1000 watts but in reality, put out ALOT less power RMS. Your friend is right and wrong. Yes you can turn down the amp,it is called a gain control. The part he is wrong about is that you can still blow a sub. If you start turning the HU up to 95-100% you will be getting alot of distortion in your subs and it still can ruin them. Be careful with the volume control.

Post Number: 2
ok well i just got my first car and im just tryin to get somthin of a system goin so im prolly gonna end up gettin a xplod 1000-1200 watt amp.do you know what the real RMS power rating they have is???

Silver Member

MN

Post Number: 595
LOL. That is one of the companies I was indirectly refering to. Sony is one of the worst car audio companies out there, don't buy from them if you can help it. That "1000 watt" Sony amp probably only puts out MAYBE 200 watts RMS, and that is being generous. What is your price range and what voice coil configuration on those subs? Maybe we can steer you in the right direction.

Post Number: 3