Mixed messages

Silver Member
Username: Scubasteve

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 306
"routing signal wires and power wires on the opposite side of a vehicle is a completely moot point"

Is there truly no advantage in a well installed system of wiring the power wire away from the signal wire? I've always done it because I thought it was common knowledge, but is this indeed a myth?

Gold Member
Username: Illuminator

Post Number: 1215
I think it is. I've ran them together and couldn't get noise from the RCAs.

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

Wisteria, Lane USA

Post Number: 8740
in 15 years as a professional installer, I've had to re-run plenty of signal lines away from power lines.
It's mandated in the MECP guide as well, so yes I can tell you running signal and noise lines together <b>can>/b> cause noise. This doesn't mean it always will cause noise, but why take the chance only later to find out you have alternator whine in the speakers, and you have to pull the car apart again to re-do your work?

Gold Member

Wisteria, Lane USA

Post Number: 8741
signal and power lines away from each other that is.
I just woke up.

Silver Member
Username: Scubasteve

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 311
thanks glass, thats basically what I thought, and I wouldn't have questioned it if it weren't written by scott buwalda who's aparently winning world championships.

http://www.roadgearmag.com/article.asp?section_id=11&article_id=485&page_number= 1

Gold Member
Username: Fishy

Tamarac Ft.Laud, FL USA

Post Number: 1471
Richard Clark believes it to be a myth as well:

http://www.carsound.com/cgi-bin/UBB_CGI/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=022690

You'll need to copy/paste that link to your address line.

I think it probably depends on the situation. If a power wire already has a good deal of current passing through it at idle then I guess it would be possible for the induced noise to be audible at low volumes.

-Fishy

Gold Member
Username: Invain

Michigan United States