Hi, I'm a newbie in need of some advice...

Username: Calaj

Detroit, MI USA

Post Number: 1
Hi, I'm currently building a system, but I need a head unit. I've been searching and found some really good ones, but I'm not sure if they will fit what I'm trying to do. I'm a recording technology major, and I do alot of mobile recording, and listening (I get to spend very little time at home or within the studio as I'm often looking for new talent to help w/ projects). So, what I need is a system that can handle extra's hooked into it, as well as being able to allow me to hear a demo w/ clarity. Here's the system that I'm putting together.
1) 3 Memphis 10" subs
2) 1000D Memphis amp
3) 2 exide extreme (purple haze) batteries
4) 1 VBF1 Memphis Line Driver
5) MC50 or MC60 Memphis speakers in front door
6) MC60 Memphis speakers in the back door (6.5 round)
7) 3004 Memphis amp (4 channel to drive the fronts)
8) EQ50 Memphis 5 channel equalizer
9) a direct iPod to amp connect and a MP3 disk changer (still shopping for this one)

I'm thinking either an alpine CDA-9847 or similar or panasonic cq-cb8901u HU, but i've also been reading about eclipse HU's. Honestly after all of this I don't really want to spend too much for a head unit, but don't want to get a head unit that can't handle it. Can anyone suggest a HU that can handle this system?And any other suggestions that would make this system better. BTW, this is going in a 1990 4-Runner w/ custom enclosures

Calaj

Silver Member
Username: Scubasteve

Annapolis, MD

Post Number: 167
eclipse and alpine make some of the best head units. You'll pay more depending on what features you want in it.

Silver Member
Username: Illuminator

Post Number: 946
In essence, all you need is a unit with Front, Rear, and Subwoofer RCA cables. The only other factor that would decipher your decision would be sound adjustment options regarding each RCA output such as crossover points or subwoofer volume control.