JL audio XR and VR series?

Username: Big_ed

Post Number: 1
I just installed a 13W7 and 1000/1 amp and need new compent speakers. I was thinking XR or VR series. Are these the right match, and will i need front and rear speakers. I am new to this and do not know much about it so any information on speakers will be helpful.

Thanks,
big ed

Post Number: 2
???????????????????????????????

Post Number: 3
okay you mother f uckers are useless selfish little b itches

Gold Member
Username: Jonathan_f

GA USA

Post Number: 4079
All about personal preference, if you can go listen to a set of JL components, then do so and see if you like them. There may be other sets you'd like better, I personally like the Adire Audio Kodas better for the money spent.

Post Number: 4
thank you jonathan

evo|eight
Unregistered guest
sorry if you had received no replies,
guess not many ppl using JL comps.

i've had the VR-525 b4 in my civic hatchback,
excellent clarity from the german-made tweeters,
mid-bass speakers can sound abit distorted if cranked too loud.
guess i shld have used the 6.5" ones...
bottomline, the VRs are good enuff for me.

BTW, i knw of ppl recommending me to use just front components, together with your subs will give a gd enuff soundstage...

but if you need to put in rear speakers, don't need to use comps in them cos they tend to mix-up with your front comps and in the end, you won't get the soundstage that you want.

hope this helps...

JL nut
Unregistered guest
get VRs powered by a clean 50-80 rms per channel amp (JL E2150 will do fine) and you'll get loud and clear

i got XRs and their metal tweeters aren't easy to listen to, they make ur ears hurt after a while (and yes i've played round with the install/settings)

VRs have silk dome tweeters and pretty much the same mid as the XRs you cant go wrong