I need help with my system. something not working and i'ma newbie and have no idea what is wrong.

danuguy
Unregistered guest
like i sed i'm a newbie and i'm not sure what's wrong but here is the amp that i have:

http://pyramidcaraudio.com/itempage.asp?model=PB781X

and i have two of these subs hooked up to the above amp:

http://www.cardomain.com/item/PIOTSW250R

i dont know what's wrong but my amp has a light that says protect and a light that says power. i had everything professionally installed and the box professionally built. the protect light is on but the power light is not on and the subs do not work at all. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bronze Member
Username: Shadylimitedx

Pgh, Pa Usa

Post Number: 98
ur subs r 4ohms whats the ohm on the amp an is ur ground good

danuguy
Unregistered guest
i dont know what ohm the amp is. i guess my ground is good. i had it professionally installed yesterday afternoon.

Gold Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 2119
if the amp is wired in stereo your fine at 4 0hms but if its mono and wired for 8 ohms your fine again but wired for 2 ohms bridged your not.....trust me NO pyramid amp is stable 2 ohms mono and will shut down if wired that way but return on after it cools down unless it fried

Gold Member

Post Number: 2122
take it back where you had it installed they will figure it out

danuguy
Unregistered guest
well i have one sub hooked into each channel and my amp is a two channel so i guess it is wired in stereo but i dont know about the ohms.

danuguy
Unregistered guest
i need it fixed 2night. cuz it needs to be ready to thump 2morrow morning. so if u could rack ur brain help me figure it out i would REALLY REALLY appreciate it.

Gold Member

Post Number: 2124
you may have blown the subs from distortion because there was no crossover on them in stereo mode or you played them too loud as well....the stereo shop should have known better than to do stereo mode without a crossover

Username: Shorty26