Seeking assistance with (3) 10W6's, sloppy bass

Username: Cellularjedi

Aviston, IL

Post Number: 1
Hey guys, I'm a noob to this forum (big in car audio 10-12 years ago, just getting back into it), so be gentle :-)

Looking for assistance... I just came across (3) JL 10W6 (not V2) in a custom sealed box, powered by a Hifonics Brutus BX 1205D, running the subs at 1 ohm. It is pretty loud, but lacks the "punch" I was expecting, and overall sounds very sloppy. The box is 3-chambered, but when I push on one of the subs, the other 2 move out slightly... so I definitely have some leakage issues.

Could that be the cause of the sloppy bass and lack of hard hitting? Sube are in great shape, so it's not them, and the amp is brand new.

If that's not the problem, I was thinking of doing something different. First resort is to build the box myself to JL's specs. After that, I guess moving onto another sub/amp combo.

Considering Audiobahn AW1208T's (I know, I said the "A" word), or possible Alpine R or S-series, Atlas, Avalanche, or who knows... looking at $600-700 for the sub/amp combo, or $400-500 if I keep the Brutus. Going into a Bravada, so space is available.

Any recommendations on which direction to go? Thanks in advance for all your help! Oh yeah, and if someone is interested in the JL's, let me know :-)

Bronze Member
Username: Subzer0

Richmond, KY USA

Post Number: 39
jl's are SQ usually .. no SPL, what punch do you expect?

Aviston, IL

Post Number: 2
Hard to put it to words really... I used to have a single 10W6 in a sealed box powered by a Phoenix Gold M50... when it hit a hard bass note, like bass drum, it would make my chest thump, like a huge pressure change... these are not doing that. KWIM?

Bronze Member
Username: Mikechec9

Chicago/atlanta

Post Number: 51