Amp subs still on when cars turned off? SOMEONE TOLD ME THAT

Anonymous

they said that when you turn your car off your amp and subs are still on just not generating/pushing out power but there still on-- True/False?

Gold Member
Username: Invain

Michigan United States

Post Number: 2536
False, unless you have the accessory on.

Silver Member
Username: Araknid

BOCA , FL U.S.

Post Number: 484
It could be if it gets installed wrong and the remote wire is accidently hooked up directly to the battery.

Anonymous

well they said you need some type of switch to turn it on.. and whats a normal install??? lol obviously im new to car audio

Gold Member

Michigan United States

Post Number: 2538
Yeah, but not likely. Only way is if they ran the remote wire to the fuse box, and found a fuse that was hot all the time, or, like you said, they ran the remote wire to the battery, which would be dumb.

Anonymous

well my friend swears by it that if you don't have this "turn-off" swithch your amp is still on just not producing any power-- he also told me that alot of people don't know that and you need some remote turn off(he said he asked pro installers n stuff)

Silver Member

BOCA , FL U.S.

Post Number: 486
The remote comes out of the HU and it only gets power when the HU is on. basically your HU is your switch OK? and who is this BTW? hope its not a regular on this forum.

Anonymous

haha no it's my friend who swears i am wrong and he's right( he listens to whatever his brother tells him which is like 26) and he's tellin everyone else this and now there all getting these switches n stuff haha i dunno i tell them to save there money but they listen to him-- thanks for the facts tho guys thats why i love this forum

Gold Member

Michigan United States

Post Number: 2542
Yeah, lol. Ask anybody that has had an amp properly installed if their battery has ever died because their amp was drawing current when the car was off....

Gold Member

Michigan United States