Ported Box good tune?

Bronze Member
Username: Redrange

Mo Hill, California

Post Number: 49
What would a good tune for a ported box for 2 12 atlas be. I was going mainly for spl, but also want some sq to actually hear the music. I was thinking 32 htz -35? any suggestions??? I was also wondering since im new to all this if u could tune a ported and sealed box to 30htz what difference in sound would be and if you would hit higher dbs in ported(which i im pretty sure) or if it wouldnt make that much of a difference in a sealed.

Reason im asking questions on boxes is i have evrything set all i need is a box, that hopefully sub can make for me and the install. ANy help would be appreciated

Gold Member
Username: Taylor17

Kopperl, Texas

Post Number: 1802
You will usually gain a 3 db increase with a ported box over a sealed.
If you are looking for the most db's, something around 45hz would be better.

Bronze Member

Mo Hill, California

Post Number: 50
I wasnt quite thinking that high. I still want some sq and 45 htz might be a lil much. Im not lloking for the most db's i just had some q's on it. What do u think about 32-35 htz???

Bronze Member

Mo Hill, California

Post Number: 51
Is 35htz Ported a good frequency that has more spl than sq, but does keep some sq?

allende5
Unregistered guest