*Shocking* alarms . . . are they legal?

Silver Member
Username: Bdonkersgoed

Ontario Canada

Post Number: 148
Hey Everyone,

Is it legal to run a current through the body of your car? I have seen a kit that makes your car's body like an electric fence :-) My stereo has been jacked twice in 10 weeks and I need to put an end to it :-( I live in Canada by the way.

I would put a sensor so that the electricity is only activated when the car is being tampered with.

My guess is that it is illegal :-(

Thanks,
Bryan

Silver Member
Username: Tafkam

Texas

Post Number: 155
Wellll, I am no lawyer but....altough it sounds like a great idea if people are as sue happy as they are here in the US, if you did that and the sh*tbag got hurt he would probably sue you, and even if you won your court costs would probably be worth more than your stereo. How come your stuff gets stolen like that? Bad neighborhood or is it easy to see or both?

I have heard of some alarms with little speakers that are suppossed to hurt your ears inside the car when the alarm is tripped, don't know if they are any good but that seems like a less risky idea.

Oh and while we are talking about this kind of stuff, here is a REALLY good idea. Damn I wish we could have these here:

http://www.cnn.com/WORLD/africa/9812/11/flame.thrower.car/

Silver Member
Username: Bdonkersgoed

Ontario Canada

Post Number: 151
Yeah, I have read about those flame throwers before too . . . I would love that!!! Althogh, it would certainly piss off the car owner's parked next to you :P A false alarm could also have some consequences :P

I really wish it was legal to electrify my car. It can't kill anyone . . . it is no more powerful than an electric fence, and I have been zapped by those a few times as a kid on my grandparent's farm. It's not a big deal, but you certainly learn to respect the fence :-) I want the same of my car . . .

Regards,
Bryan

Gold Member
Username: Carguy

Post Number: 2249