Please Help!

nikateen
Unregistered guest
Ok im having a problem here and i need some help...i recently had 2 xplode subs (bought em cuzz they were cheap)and i wanted an upgrade so i bought some fosgate punch 12s...500 max,250 rms i think...so anyway i hooked up the subs and they sounded great...my friend told me i should also upgrade my wires (power and ground) which were both 10 guage...so i updated to a 800watt 4 guage power and ground wire and after that things went down hill...it sounded good for about a day and now im gettin really bad muddy sounding bass and i dont know what to do! they sounded fine before i switched over to the 4 guage and now it just doesnt sound right at all,the bass just hits wierd...now one thing i thought it coulda been is that when i unhooked my battery all my decks settings reset...i spent hours configuring it all back to the way i had it and still really bad sounding bass...is it possible that i blew a sub? im just starting to learn about this stuff but i dont know what to do about this...if anybody could help me it would be MUCH apreciated...if its a blown sub or something its no biggie cuzz i got the insurance for a year so they will replace em over at the place i got em...somebody please help me cuzz a day without good sounding audio is like a day without sun!

Gold Member
Username: Carguy

Post Number: 1983
I know what you mean. Audio is very important in a car.
When you say "bad" sounding bass or "bass just hits wierd", what is it? Describe in detail. Bad can be different things to many people. Are you saying it's not producing low bass or distortion mixed in?
What amp are you using? Are your subs 4ohms DVC or SVC?

nikateen
Unregistered guest
My subs are 8ohms single voice coil...and by bad bass i mean the bass hits kind of muffled,yet it hits kinda distorted at the same time,almost like i got one sub in the trunk thats not gettin enough jiuce...and my amp is a kenwood 800 watt peak probably running 400-500 continuius.