Will this amp do (Alpine MRV-F450)?

Jamboree
Unregistered guest
I'm new to car audio and the last thing I need to buy is the amp and the Alpine MRV-F450 is what I had in mind. I just want to know if I'm getting the most out of system using this amp?

If not could you guys lead me in the right direction?

This is what I have:

Car: '94 Accord
Fronts (6 1/2): 60.5cs Infinity Kappas
Rears (6x9): 9602i Infinity Reference
Sub (12"): 1 JL Audio 12W3v2

Jamboree
Unregistered guest
I also have an Alpine CDA-9805 head unit.

Silver Member
Username: Joebruce

KY U.S.A.

Post Number: 119
Alpine doesnt make the best amps,now there head units are a differant story.If your on a budget I would look at mtx or jbl,if not then go with zapco,xtant,ect. Also you will need an amp for your sub,you know that right?

Jamboree
Unregistered guest
Thanks, I didn't know I'll need a seperate amp for my sub. So is it better just to get a 4 channel and a mono amp. I haven't heard of mtx but I have heard of jbl, so I'll look into both of them.

Silver Member
Username: Joebruce

KY U.S.A.

Post Number: 127
Wut is the rms of your 6x9,6 1/2,and your sub? Yes i would get a 4 channel amp for your mids,but you dont have to get a mono amp for your sub you could get a 2 channel amp and bridge it.

Jamboree
Unregistered guest
cool thanks, the rms are:

6 1/2: 90W, but it comes w/ crossovers(3.5kHz)and tweeters and the it says the tweeters are at 50 rms. I don't know if that makes a difference, just putting it out there.

6x9: 100W

subs: 300 rms

another thing about amps, are kicker amps any good b/c i have a hookup at fry's and that was what his co-workers were telling me to get. i was leaning towards alpine b/c i have another friend who could get it to me at cost. i also thought since the alpine was 5 channels that i only needed one amp. i was only trying to spend 500 on an amp possibly 600 and for sure under 800 w/o the hook ups just in case something happens.