Subwoofers without amp, good or bad?

eljefe
Unregistered guest
Is running a pair of subs without an amp a good or bad idea. Will anything happen running subs with no amp?

ampless
Unregistered guest
Im no expert..but i dont think u can actually run a sub without an amp connected to it...there just isn't enough juice to properly power the coils..

eljefe
Unregistered guest
So,,, because I just put my 2 12in subs in my truck, and I decided not to install my amp because there will be no room. So is running 2 subs without an amplifer good or bad? Or will anything happen?

eljefe
Unregistered guest
So,,,because I just connected my 2 12in subs in my truck and I decided not to install the amp because it takes up too much room. So is running 2 subs without and amp good or bad? Or can anything happen?

Silver Member
Username: James1115

Wilton, Ct

Post Number: 532
yes it is bad. Subs are meant to be run in a low pass frequency's only. By running them on a full range scale you will fry your voice coils. Not to mention it will sound like doo doo.

Big D
Unregistered guest
Nah man, I run my subs without any amp. Superb sound quality. I just have to buy a new hampster every so often to spin the wheel and CREATE ENERGY.

eljefe
Unregistered guest
Let me see here, so I heard that it is ok to run subs with no amp, but then I have heard that it is bad? Which one is it, and why.

Silver Member
Username: Solacedagony

New Jersey US

Post Number: 248
You can't run a sub strictly off of RCAs. You can run one off of one of the channels of an HU (Or bridge the rear two channels, if that's even possible with an HU) Otherwise you need an amp.

Gold Member
Username: Carguy

Post Number: 1367
You shouldn't run subs off the HU alone cause the power's too low. It's only 20W rms the most. Average subs are 100W rms or higher. You'd have to supply at least 50w rms for 100w subs to sound decent. Now for 300w - 1000w subs, 20w rms is not even enough to meet the minimum power requirements.