2 ohm sub better or 4 ohm sub

Username: Badchokra

Post Number: 1
Well I am looking at buying 2 12" dual coil subs. I was looking at alpines 1221D (2 ohm dual coil) and 1241D (4 ohm dual coil). I was thinking of wiring them in parallel,2 2 ohms would give me 1 ohm impedance and 2 4 ohm would give me 2 ohm impedance. My question is which one is better? Should I go with dual 2 ohm subs or dual 4 ohm subs? and why? I am planning to buy the amp (I want to use two channels, bridged or unbridged as needed) after I find out which subs I should go with, so I think which amp I use is not a concern right now? Also can you recommend an amp. I am fairly new at this, any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Silver Member
Username: Deathshadow

Post Number: 280
Lower impedance = cheaper to power; you can wire two DVC 2 ohm coils in series and parallel to get a 2 ohm load, wire it all in parallel to get a 0.5 ohm load, or you can get an 8 ohm load by wiring then all in series. As far as an amp for the Type Rs I recommend the Alpine V12 MRD-M501; I have owned this amp for over a month now and there is nothing else like it in its class. It is just great...

Post Number: 2
Hey Damien, thanks for the quick reply. MRD-M501 is a mono amp. I was thinking of using a 2 channel amp. So if I wired the 2 coils in parallel for each sub, I will get 1 ohm(for 1221D) OR 2 ohm(for 1241D)load on each channel. So I guess what I am asking is which one would perform better?

Silver Member

Post Number: 285
2 ohm load on that amp will give you 600 watts at 14 volts. Really id stay with a mono amp they draw a lot less current and as I said the MRD is just damn s3xy. If you use a 2 channel you just want to bridge it and use it as a mono anyway, stereo can make things sound offset.

Post Number: 3