Clueless on right speakers for my system

Username: D1slocate

Cary, NC US

Post Number: 1
I'm pretty new to the car audio thing but I have $2,000+ to spend but I'd prefer to stay around $2,000 (including professional installations). I was looking through the archive and saw that Glasswolf recommended 2 kicker 12" comp vrs with a kicker kx600.1 amp, and I'm pretty set on getting that. Now I am clueless as to what speakers would would go good with my subwoofers. I have a 1996 Grand Cherokee with an infinity system and infinity speakers seem to be well liked on this forum, so would two infinity perfects up front do the job? Also what amp would best power the speakers you recommend? Thnaks!

NappyDugout
Unregistered guest
Put in some MB Quart PCE 213 5.25 components that double as coax in the front. These have 1'' titanium tweets and a titanium coated poly woofer. Drive them with a JL Audio 300/2 amp stealth series. These two combined will run avg.$300-350spkr + avg $350 for amp= $700. Take out your rears. You'll be so happy with this combination that you'll send me x-mas card!

Dude, if $700 is too much, go for a cheaper Alpine 50X2 amp driving the MBquart reference (step down, but titanium tweeters). This combo will run about $400.00. These have x-overs too but can be mounted as coax if you don't have the door tweets.

Later.

Gold Member
Username: Glasswolf

NorthWest, Michigan USA

Post Number: 5725
ah a 96 JGC. I have a 94, and about to get an 01 myself.
ok that ZJ body has 6.5" all the way around for factory speakers, and a dash location for tweeters.

look at decent 6.5" separates in front, like Infinity Kappas or CDT Classic CL-61 set from thezeb.com
if you want rear door speakers, look at a matching set of coaxials from the same line as the separates you use in front.

for power, you could use an Alpine head unit with the internal Vdrive amp, or any good head unit with 3 sets of pre-outs, and go with a small 4 channel amp like a Kicker KX600.4 or 300.4