AMP settings

Anonymous

hi guys/gals
i am a newbie at car stereo, and just installed my own system.
i would like to know what is the "Gain" setting on the amp. Currently, it is on minimum, how much can i tweak it as so it wont spoil my sub? i have a 2channel 400wat amp powering a 12"sub bridged.

Also, my sub makes a small, but noticeable "boom" noise whenever i turn off my ignition. the amp is connected to my deck via RCA cable, and via the amp remote wire. the power is directly from the car battery.

thanks a lot in advance =)

Blah
Unregistered guest
The popping noise could be your RCA wires might be damaged. Try replacing them with some Monster Cable RCA's. And the Gain. Remember, its not a volume, because the power goes up as you crank the volume on your radio. But you should try to turn your radio as loud as you want it to get, then adjust the gain to as loud as the speaker can handle it. That way the gain is never too high. When it starts to sound muddy and like a spitting sound, you have the gain too high. By the way, your frequency should be all the way down, and then turn it just a little tiny bit up. Subwoofers are made to play the LOW frequency's of music.

jay amaro
Unregistered guest
well first off your gain is perfect where its at right now and thats the starting point you want it at.
your gain only needs to be matched to the rca outputs of your stereo.
turning the gain up to high wont give you what you dont have so at best you are trying tomatch and balance your gain on the amp to the preamp output of your deck.
yes i would turn the stereo up to a comfortable listening level (80% volume being ideal) and then adjust your gain by slowly turn it up until eveything sounds balanced.
that ignition thump is a somewhat common problem and is not caused by the rca's.
the boom you hear is from the amps power circuitry stabilizing.
somethings to check are that you have a good clean ground connection to your amp.