Need a little help

Username: Obama

SanDiego, California United States

Post Number: 1
Hey, guys, im a bit new to subs and amplifiers so i'll need a bit of help.

To start off I have a Honda Accord 1998 ex with 2 Rockford Fosgate p3 400W(ea) subs that I got for free. The guy that gave them to me instructed me to get a 2 channel amp with 750-1000 watts to power both subs. I have all the wiring and hes putting in a stereo system aswell.

So basically my question is, whats a good brand amp for my
particular subs? I would assume since my subs aren't that powerful and my cars not that great that they wouldn't require high end amps. Any suggestions?

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, South Carolina

Post Number: 14455
he didn't know what he was talking about.
what you want is a class D monoblock (single channel) sub amp.
in that power range, look at the hifonics brutus 1200 watt amp or, better yet, an audioque aq1200d
you'll need at least 4 gauge power and ground wiring for battery-to-amplifier and ground.

Platinum Member

Columbia, South Carolina

Post Number: 14456
PS, you're possibly the worst president since Jimmy Carter. Please resign.

Post Number: 2
I appreciate the quick response, I was reading around and what my friend was telling me did not match up to what I was reading from some of the veterans on this forum.

If you wouldn't mind, could you explain how a monoblock amp should be wired up to power 2 subs??

Post Number: 3
and haha, I still appreciate your help :p

Post Number: 4
They are both dvc subs 4 ohm each, if that helps at all

Gold Member
Username: Kaerfpl

Spencerport, NY USA

Post Number: 1289
LOL at Glasswolf

But putting that asside, Glasswolf is correct. You do not want a 2-channel Amplifier, you want a Mono-Block (1-channel) Amplifier. Glasswolf already beat me to the punch suggesting the AQ1200D. Here is the website to where you can purchase one:

http://www.audioque.com/AQ1200D-Amplifier_p_30.html